The Old Exchange Gift Shop now carries the complete line of Palmetto Socks. The building is an icon in Charleston on East Bay Street. The Exchange was built from 1767-1771 by South Carolina's provincial government, and was used during the 18th century for a variety of civic functions, including as a custom house, public market, public meeting place, and jail. During the American Revolution, confiscated tea was stored here in 1774, and it is where South Carolina's revolutionary leadership councils were held. After the British captured the city in 1780, it was used as a barracks, and its basement was used as a military prison. So much history and well worth the visit. Explore the building and the gift shop.